I’m Telling You…

I’m telling you, listening is a response. When you listen with the intent to retain the information you hear, you are responding to the speaker. You are indirectly and silenty telling the speaker, you approve. When you listen with the intent to counter what is being said, you are responding. You are telling the speaker “I heard you but I don’t intend to utilize everything you’ve said”. Why? Why is that the response? Well, if you counter without accepting the message in its entirety, then you are directly (not indirectly) saying I do not approve this message. I’m telling you, listen, listening is a RESPONSE. So listen carefully the next time someone is speaking. Respond carefully, it matters.

Leave a Reply

